Campaign 2020: The list of Democratic presidential candidates who want to topple Trump


The Iowa Caucuses are months away (Feb. 3, 2020) but Democratic candidates for president are already scrambling for momentum in a crowded field.

Running: NYC Mayor Bill de Blasio, Montana Gov. Steve Bullock, Colorado Sen. Michael Bennet, Former Vice President Joe Biden, South Bend, Ind., Mayor Pete Buttigieg, Massachusetts Rep. Seth Moulton, Ohio Rep. Tim Ryan, Sen. Kirsten Gillibrand, former Rep. Beto O’Rourke, former Gov. John Hickenlooper, Gov. Jay Inslee, Sen. Bernie Sanders, California billionaire Tom Steyer, Sen. Amy Klobuchar, Sen. Elizabeth Warren, Sen. Cory Booker, Sen. Kamala Harris, ex-San Antonio Mayor Julian Castro, Rep. Tulsi Gabbard, former Rep. John Delaney, Miramar, Fla., Mayor Wayne Messam, former Pennsylvania congressman Joe Sestak, author Marianne Williamson, and former tech executive Andrew Yang.

Dropped out: California Rep. Eric Swalwell, West Virginia state Sen. Richard Ojeda (announced run but dropped out 10 days later).

Not running: Former Virginia Gov. Terry McAuliffe, Ohio Sen. Sherrod Brown, former Secretary of State Hillary Clinton, former Attorney General Eric Holder, former New York City Mayor Michael Bloomberg, Oregon Sen. Jeff Merkley.

Others: Former Massachusetts Gov. William Weld is challenging Trump in the Republican primary. Former Starbucks CEO Howard Schultz is considering an independent run.

Billionaire activist Tom Steyer

Billionaire activist Tom Steyer is joing the race for the Democratic presidencial nominación,  reversing course after deciding earlier this year that he would forgo a run.

Steyer made the announcement on July 9, casting himself as an outsider who will oppose what he calls “the hostile corporate takeover of our democracy.”

Former Pennsylvania Rep. Joe Sestak

The retired Navy admiral joined the field on June 23, 2019, launching his longshot candidacy  at a veterans’ museum in Waterloo, Iowa.

Sestak served two terms in the House, then defied his party by running against incumbent Sen. Arlen Specter in the 2010 primary. He won that race, but lost the general election to Republican Pat Toomey. He then lost another primary run in 2016, but lost.


Leave a reply